TAHS Hosts National Honor Society Induction Ceremony | News

For the first time in many years (maybe decades), Tyrone Area High School held an official induction ceremony for National Honor Society students in the district. The ceremony took place on Wednesday evening May 11, at 7 p.m., in the high school auditorium.

Amanda Burega, NHS adviser and secondary school teacher, welcomed everyone to the event. She said, “In addition to strong academic records, which established membership eligibility, members of our chapter are leaders in many student organizations in their school and community clubs.

Burega cited several examples of the group’s activity this academic year, including participating in the Youth Action Network (YAN) Halloween event, packing toys for toddlers, ringing the bell for the Army of Salute and planting trees for the Flight 93 memorial. Each NHS member is usually required to log 30 hours of community service to maintain eligibility for the scheme. This year the requirement was a little less due to the remaining COVID restrictions earlier in the year.

The ceremony included the lighting of candles for each of the four NHS criteria: scholarship, service, leadership and character. The NHS officers for 2022 are Nicholas Lehner, chairman; Elaina Gehlman and Hailey Vanish, Vice Presidents; Hayley Morrissey, Treasurer; Eva Toth, Senior Representative; Lauren Fleck, second representative. Lehner led the inductees in their engagement before individual pins and stoles were awarded.

Burega initiated, planned and hosted the NHS induction ceremony in Tyrone. She said it’s the first of what will become an annual event and later said The daily Herald that she hopes to give this club the recognition it deserves.

The high school’s acting superintendent and principal, Leslie Estep, was unfortunately unable to attend the ceremony due to other commitments. Estep said, “I am thrilled to see the return of the National Honor Society Induction Ceremony as an evening event involving students and families. Whenever possible, it is essential to recognize the academic achievements of our students and what a great way to do it! I think it is always important to recognize that these students not only exemplify the ‘scholarship’ pillar of the NHS, but also the ‘service, leadership and character’ pillars. These students certainly serve as role models for others.

Below are the students who have been inducted into the TAHS National Honor Society this year. All received NHS pins. The elderly also received their NHS graduation stoles, a special ribbon they will wear to recognize their achievement at the graduation ceremony on Thursday June 2 in the high school auditorium.

Seniors — Class of 2022

Maci Brodzina, Katelynn Buck, Drue Christine, Sarah Christofer, Michael Chronister, Aiden Coleman, Olivia Ewing, Emma Getz, Kaitlyn Houck, David Lang, Mackenzie Latchford, Nick Lehner, Marissa Lewis, Ellie Oakes, Jaida Parker, Lindsey Parks, Grace Peterson , Rory Quigley, Stephanie Ramsey, Isabella Rhoades, Kiara Rhoads, Steven Sessamen, Paige Shultz, Trent Smith, Rachel Stricek, Elijah Svidergol, Eva Toth, Lexus Weaver, Jillian Williams, Randi Williams

Juniors — Class of 2023

Marina Beck, Sarah Butina, Isaiah Carney, Kevin Carper, Emily Dale, Laci Daniel, Brayden Daniels, Hanna Eakin, Kiersten Friday, Elizabeth Fryer, Ross Gampe, Elaina Gehlman, Marley Grazier, Hailey Houck, MacKenzie Hyde, Reagan Irons, Libby Keller , Riley Lawson, Zachary Legars, Katherine Lehner, Gianna Maloney, Ashlynn McKinney, Cassidy Miksich, Josephine Mills, Hayley Morrissey, Elizabeth Pearson, Emma Reese, MacKenzie Ritter, Kristen Robison, Vivian Sciarrillo, Ryan Seeger, Lydia Seltzer, Kairigan Sible, Kenneth Sorokie, Eliza Vance, Hailey Vanish, Rayann Walls, Mikenzie Weaver, Jenna Weyer, Jaden Williams

Second year – Class of 2024

Katelyn Adams, Connor Bennett, Allison Black, Kaleigh Brodzina, Steven Buck, Anthony Coleman, Riley Corl, Dravyn Crowell, Emily Davis, Joseph Davis, Braden Ewing, Lauren Fleck, Maverick Fleck, Rylee Fleck, MacKenzie Gunsallus, John Isenberg, Elijah Knarr , Hope Kolbfleisch, Maia Kubarek, Rebecca Lewis, Isis Lucas, Ethan McCloskey, Emily McDonald, Mercedes Miller, Noah Newlin, Breanna Paul, Patricia Pluebell, Aliyah Riling, Abigale Roberts, Rocky Romani, Summer Shaw, Tyler Smyder, Logan Smyth, Jadyn Smyth, Iceis Snyder, Makenzie Soellner, Rebekah Sprankle, Lukas Walk, Courtney Walk, Laynie Walk, Remington Weaver, Alysa Wheland, Madison Whitby, Austin White, Aliza Yazzie

Previous Leeds United FA Cup heroes honored by groups of supporters at unveiling of new Elland Road plaques
Next Environmental groups want EPA to do more to protect manatees and wildlife - CBS Miami