Super League: nine rebel clubs join the European Club Association

LONDON (AP) – Nine of the teams that took part in the ill-fated launch of a breakaway Super League have been welcomed back into the decision-making organization overseeing the European clubs game.

Six English clubs – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham – will once again be members of the Association of European Clubs along with AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid.

But Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus refuse to give up the largely closed breakaway competition to launch a rival in the Champions League, thus prolonging the break with UEFA and their European counterparts.

The 12 founding clubs of the Super League left the ECA in April when they reneged on their previous commitments to UEFA to launch the Super League. The nine now reinstated in the ECA threw the project off when they left the Super League amid a backlash from governing bodies and supporters – especially in England.

The ECA is now chaired by Nasser Al-Khelaifi, the president of Paris Saint-Germain, who has never signed for the Super League which collapsed in less than 48 hours. The ECA said there had been “a comprehensive club re-engagement and reassessment process” before its board allowed them to withdraw their previous resignations.

“The ECA Board of Directors has taken into consideration the clubs’ recognition that the so-called European Super League project was not in the interest of the wider football community and their publicly communicated decisions. completely abandon said ESL project, “the ECA said in a statement. Monday. “The ECA Board of Directors also recognized the clubs’ declared willingness to actively engage with the ECA in its collective mission of developing European club football – in the open and transparent interest of all, not some.”

The nine former rebel clubs have already agreed to a financial settlement with UEFA, accepting fines in recognition of wrongdoing for trying to separate from existing competition structures. They have made a combined payment of 15 million euros ($ 18 million) and will forgo 5% of the revenue for a season played in Europe.

In order to prevent them from deploying the Super League threat again, the clubs have also agreed to a € 100million fine if they attempt to play again in an unauthorized competition or € 50million s’ they breach any other commitment to UEFA under the regulations.

Despite the lack of support from their larger European counterparts, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus are still pursuing legal actions to challenge what they have called “UEFA’s monopoly position on European football”. They hope that the European Court of Justice in Luxembourg will rule in their favor and allow the concept of a non-UEFA-managed Super League to be explored by the teams.

More football coverage:

Previous The RSF golf club and the association are starting to plan to host the clubhouse restaurant
Next Man City CEO loses European Club Association seat to Tottenham Hotspur boss

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.