SH community leader honored by regional arts organization | Local News

Leader Who Guided South Haven Center for the Arts Through Hardship of COVID-19 Restrictions Honored by Arts Council Greater Kalamazoo,

Kerry Hagy, Executive Director of the South Haven Center for the Arts, is among 10 individuals, organizations and businesses who have been named recipients of the 2021 Community Arts Award by the Arts Council of Greater Kalamazoo.

Hagy is one of three recipients of the Arts Council’s Gayle Hoogstraten Arts Leadership Award, which recognizes leaders in southwest Michigan in two categories: arts education and arts administration.

Named in honor of the Arts Council’s first full-time executive director, the Arts Leadership Award is given to cultural leaders who go beyond their job descriptions to make a strong impact on their communities through art, and who also develop cultural relations outside their institutions.

“Thanks to Kerry’s leadership, the South Haven Center for the Arts has been able to sustain the organization in a positive way throughout the pandemic,” the Arts Council wrote in a press release. “South Haven Center for the Arts has moved to online programming, workshops, exhibits and gallery openings through Zoom and has changed scheduled exhibits online in person with a very positive response. During the transition to reopening the art center to the public, Kerry was able to create a comprehensive program of short-term programs and events with the safety of staff, members, volunteers in mind. and visitors. Museum grounds in South Haven. “

While taking care of his administrative duties at the art center, Hagy also takes time to help with other arts-related projects in the area. She has helped arts organizations in Berrien County apply for funding for a mural project, helped South Haven Public Schools apply for an arts-related grant, and offered grant writing skills to others. and organizations, including the Scott Club, a cultural arts organization. in South Haven.

The other recipients are Bryan Zocher, administrator of the Lincoln Center Education for the Arts program; Cara Lieurance, WMUK-FM radio host for arts-related programs; Lori Moore, theater artist and arts advocate in Kalamazoo; Morgan Brown, Young Artist Award for his involvement with Rootead Youth Dance Company; Brasserie Bell, Business Arts Award for its support of the fine arts; Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Epic Award for serving the community for 96 years; Mandy Clearwaters, Artistic Leadership Award for showcasing the art projects of Kalamazoo public school students throughout the community; Aubrey Jewel Rogers, Artistic Leadership Award for her work as a teacher at the Center for New Media at Kalamazoo Valley Community College; and Judah Gesmundo, Theodore C. Cooper Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service for serving on the board of directors of Wellspring / Cori Terry & Dancers for over 20 years.

Source link

Previous Port Arthur groups, students come together to help the needy - Port Arthur News
Next Omemee: Pickles, Pies and Preserves with the Manvers Historical Society

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *