Manchester United and Man City join European Club Association alongside Super League squads

Manchester United and Manchester City have joined the independent body which represents football clubs at European level.

Both Premier League clubs will once again become members of the European Club Association (ECA) alongside AC Milan, Arsenal, Atletico Madrid, Chelsea, Inter Milan, Liverpool and Tottenham .

These clubs all quit the ECA in April to form a continental breakaway competition, kicking off the ill-fated European Super League, which only lasted a few days, largely due to massive fan protests.

United fans stormed Old Trafford and staged a sit-in on the pitch ahead of Liverpool’s game in May, prompting the game to be postponed, while City fans protested against the Liverpool board. club at Wembley in the League Cup final in April.

The nine clubs have been reinstated after abandoning all involvement in the Super League project, according to the ECA, although Barcelona, ​​Juventus and Real Madrid remain away as they continue their plans for a new competition.

“In its decision, and after an exhaustive process of club re-engagement and reassessment by the ECA over the past several months, the ECA Board of Directors has taken into consideration the clubs’ recognition that the draft says to European Super League (“ESL Project”) was not in the best interests of the wider football community and their publicly communicated decisions to abandon said ESL project altogether, “a statement read.

“The ECA Board of Directors has also recognized the declared willingness of the clubs to actively engage with the ECA in its collective mission of developing European club football – in the open and transparent interest of all, not some.

“This decision by the ECA Board of Directors marks the end of an unfortunate and turbulent episode for European football and aligns with the ECA’s relentless drive to strengthen the unity of European football.”

Earlier this month, UEFA rejected a Spanish court order to revoke sanctions against 12 Super League clubs

Real president Florentino Perez, who maintains the Super League is not dead, has taken the legal route to ensure it can move forward, saying all 12 clubs have signed binding contracts locking them in the project.

Previous The RSF golf club and the association are starting to plan to host the clubhouse restaurant
Next Man City CEO loses European Club Association seat to Tottenham Hotspur boss

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.