Illinois College Criminal Justice Society Inducts Honorary Members


Jerry Lieb (left to right), Vernell Bentley and Adam Mefford have been named honorary members of the Illinois College Criminal Justice Society. Drew Szabodos was also selected for inclusion.

David Blanchette/Supplied

The Illinois College Criminal Justice Society inducted four new honorary members from the law enforcement community.

The new members were all Illinois College alumni but graduated before the society was founded in 2020. They are Jacksonville Police Chief Adam Mefford, Fraternal Order of police Jerry Lieb, Jacksonville police officer Vernell Bentley and Springfield police officer Drew Szabodos.

In a statement, the society said the induction of honorary members was necessary to show gratitude to those who preceded them in the criminal justice program.

“Although they may not have had the chance to participate in such a club,” the society said, “their involvement both on and off campus has proven to be inspiring and something that our current members strive to accomplish themselves”.

Other inductees included Brianna Lockwood, Samantha Sabo and Austin Hinchman.

Previous UTC Student Organization Participates in Chattanooga Library Festival
Next Youth organization reacts to new Steeler Kenny Pickett